Global Showcase: Alabama Shakes

From Athens, Alabama

Chances are you heard the single Hold On” and got it severely stuck in your head at some point this summer. I admit, I heard the single, liked it, but I didn’t look the band up at all. I just figured it was another good summer song on the radio, and didn’t look into the Alabama Shakes at all. Then I heard I Found You” and Hang Loose” which along with “Hold On” are on their debut album Boys and Girls.” 

This band is here to stay. Quite the original blend of alternative / neo-soul / blues-rock. They have this throwback quality about them that I love. That motown sheeeaat nawmsayin? Lead singer Brittany Howard is damn good. So check ’em out.

Alabama Shakes

 

 

 

‘Murica

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Grammy Nods (continued. . .) « allmyfavoriterockstarsaredead

Leave a Reply

